2017 Winners

Grand Jury Award

The Pineville Heist directed by Lee Chambers

Special Jury Prize

One World - Different People directed by Oliver Langewitz

Special Jury Prize

Emote directed by Nichole Huenergardt

Best Feature

The Woman In The Red Dress directed by Calvert David Miles

Best Action Sports Film

Between directed by Sandra Lahnsteiner

Best Animation

Stars directed by Han Zhang

Best Documentary Feature

Road to Hope directed by Mike Wargo

Best Envirornmental Film

Through The Thick directed by Nino Leitner

Best Short Film

Cup of Stars directed by Betschart Bros

Best Documentary Short

Sixteen Sunrises & Sunsets directed by Marilyn Swick

Best Foreign Film

From Opened Xing directed by Masaya Uenoyama

Best Director

Croissant directed by Marius Conrotto Diaz

Best First-time Filmmaker

The Weekend directed by Dennis Cahlo

Best Screenplay

Slim written by Michael Arell

Best Hawaii Film

Aloha From Lavaland directed by Phillips Payson, Suzenne Seradwyn

Best Family Film

Charlie's Gift directed by Duane Journey

Best Music Video

Promise Land directed by Andrew Pezzulo

Best Thriller Film

Jasmine directed by Dax Phelan

Best Television Pilot

Void directed by Jack Tracy

Best Student Film

Ellen Infinity directed by Aidan West Screenplay Competition

Feature Screenplay Competition

First Place Three Steps to Heaven written by Matt Pacini
Second Place Parousia written by Todd Sorrell
Third Place Through the Mill written by Harold Lea Brown

Short Screenplay Competition

First Place Sweet Therapy written by Laura Koons
Second Place Actors Anonymous written by Marilyn Swick
Third Place One Child Born written by Stuart Creque

Official Finalists

The Locker Room written by Pat Battistini
Lovin' It written by Stuart Creque
The Mother Lode written by Marc Lalonde
Witch Way Love written by James Martin
Soul Survival written by Matthew Mclaughlin
Jagged Edge written by Tamara Herman, Cindy Aronson
Pink Bunny written by Geoffrey D. Calhoun
Solomon's Choice written by Richard Geiwitz
Maunaleo written by Christopher Colpitts
Clear Blue Sky written by Michael Spiros
Brazda The Committed written by Tim MAnning

2017 Gold Kahuna Winners

Feature Film Competition

Summer Cabin directed by Sean Feuer
The Cursed Man directed by James L. Perry
Rotations of the Earth directed by James Byrne

Short Film Competition

Bhairavi Sky directed by John Bush
Hayi Gaitano Este directed by Steven LeFever, Neil Tinkham
Paradox directed by Paul Erskine
Essential Tremors directed by Lisa Lennox
When Damon Met Angie directed by Hugo J. Matz
Pudding directed by Ryan Betschart
The Redeemers directed by Mukul Gadde
The Serene Heartache directed by Pat Battistini
Doors directed by Paco Arasanz
REM directed by Marilyn Swick

Documentary Short Competition

Blackwaters directed by Olaf Crato
Under the Same Sky directed by Yoyo Li
The Birth of an Artist directed by Nataliya Babenko

Documentary Feature Competition

Scout's Honour directed by Andy Neitzert, Sara Neitzert
Mele Murals directed by Tadashi Nakamura
The Green Standard directed by William Rosenfeld, Jacob Strunk

Animation Film Competition

Heavenkid directed by Derrick, Yung-Te, Wu

Music Video Competition

Earth (Bumiku) directed by Natasha Dematra
Paper Chase directed by Ryan Betschart
Lost Boys directed by Brian A. Crandall, Paul Marques Duarte, Raphael M. Ubales

Foreign Film Competition

 I Remember When I Die directed by Maria Bäck

Television Pilot Competition

 The Parallel Project directed by Barrett Gregory Miner
Issues directed by Ryan McDowell Chiang directed by Mark Weatherbe

Student Film Competition

Kiss of Death directed by Timothy Collins, Jillian Kibler
This Is What I Train For directed by John Furth
Producing Hope directed by Morgan
Shirk Cavities directed by Michael Chan

First Time Filmmaker Competition

Blockbuster - A Life in Moving Pictures directed by Vlado Priborsky
The 11th Commandment directed by Bryan McGlothin
How to Rob a House directed by Adi Spektor

Screenplay Competition

Taconite written by Jonathan Fear
Venor written by Matt Nye
The Case of the Tattooed Redhead written by Jim Norman
The 89th Temple written by Charlie Canning
Twisted Act written by Luciana Lagana C
olour Me Jane written by Elisa Mcrae
Big Dreams written by Todd Bennett

2017 Silver Lei Winners

Feature Film Competition

Kingpin VS Da Chosen directed by Palani Inn

Short Film Competition

Between Heaven & Hell directed by Søren Grau 

Like a Butterly directed by Eitan Pitigliani
Shift directed by Kristen Hester
Enora directed by Khadraoui Sami, Monney Benoît
Shezhire directed by Yelena Romanova
Wig Shop directed by Kat Coiro  
Father directed by Lella Satie
Fuel To The Fire directed Harald Franklin
Glass Ceiling directed by Tash Ann
Psycho Therapy directed by Staci Layne Wilson
High Stakes Jake directed by Todd Maetani

Documentary Short Competition

Alien Tom directed by Henry Goren 
Dancing through Life: The Dorothy Toy Story directed by Rick Quan

Documentary Feature Competition

Urbex: A Memoir directed by Mario Mantilla
Highpointers directed by Gary Scurka
25 TRACKS directed by Fiona Cochrane

Animation Film Competition

Agrinoui directed by Alexis Chaviaras

Music Video Competition

Nightmares Come True (Nothing to Hide) directed by Ulla Romero
You Won't Define Me directed by Marilyn Swick
Where's My Home directed by Jonathan Stimac
A Song of Pilot Whale Fog directed by Bonnie Carini

Foreign Film Competition

Rollercoaster Love directed by Emanuele Valla

Television Pilot Competition

10,000 Fights directed by Jeremy Hsu
Not Dead Yet directed by Joseph Frederick Britz
Becca on Call directed by Jenness Rouse, Matt Draper (Pilot)

Student Film Competition

Wild hope directed by Audrey Bauduin
Thief directed by Yixia Li
The Mentor directed by Tati Vogt
Circus City, USA directed by Adam Michael Wright

First Time Filmmaker Competition

Black Fatherhood: Trials & Tribulations, Testimony & Triumph directed by Maia Porter
HEART: Flatline to Finish Line directed by David Watkins
Harmonica directed by Ye Kuang

Screenplay Competition

Blood Trigger written by Ron Podell
Hawaiian Shirt written by Laurence
FG Entangled written by Sharon Powers
I Don't No written by Julie Rockett
The Wonderful written by Demitra Papadinis
The Minimalist Sailor written by Alexander Dorsey, Carla Sazunic Dorsey

2017 Aloha Accolade Winners

Short Film Competition

Assembling a Goddess directed by Mary Piller
Letting Go directed by Jack Tracy
Real Artists directed by Cameo Wood
Locked directed by Ye Kuang

Documentary Short Competition

Think of Calvin directed by Kelly Amis
Remains directed by Jose H Rodriguez Guzman

Documentary Feature Competition

No Roads In directed by Josh Wong
Plant Codes, Unleashing Nature's Healing Power directed by Gary Null

Animation Film Competition

Mayur directed by Vibeke Sorensen

Music Video Competition

Trellebelle Ukulele Orchestra directed by Michael Wall
Backfire directed by Jonathan Stimac
Delightful directed by Anna Haas

Foreign Film Competition

Village Escape: Mission Love Affair directed by Nurtas Adam

Television Pilot Competition

The New Locals directed by Jeremy Hsu Green
Gold directed by Christina Clark

Student Film Competition

Shen directed by Jace Alexander Casey Caliber directed by Tanner Cusumano
Blackout directed by Timothy Collins
Timothy Collins directed by Joshua Iosefo

Screenplay Competition

Resurrection Time Conspiracy written by James Carroll
Acceptance IS written by Belle Angel, Dorcas M. Bennett
Primos written by Scott A. Lopez, Jesus F. Jauregui
You Had Me At Aloha written by Joanne Rose
Everywhere written by Thomas Louis Castiglione
Merry Tex-Mas written by James Christopher